Harry Potter Moment of the Week



So, I came across this via Caffeinated Bibliophile  and it was originally created by Uncorked Thoughts, now hosted by Lunar Rainbows.

Is there any better topic to be discussing on your book blog on the weekend? I think not. This week the focus is around Dumbeldore’s Army and the question is as follows:-

“Would you have joined Dumbledore’s Army? Even with Umbridge breathing down your neck?”

So, when it comes to politics and people’s rights and the like, I can be very opinionated and can get very involved in discussion surrounding these. To call me an activist would be a disservice as typically I am good at talking things out, but when it comes to action I become hesitant and self-doubting. I often allow fear to overwhelm me when in the face of genuine change. This fear usually takes the form of:-

  • “What if no one cares what I have to say or do?”
  • “What if I don’t make the impact I want to make?”
  • “What if I am wrong?”

I think the last question in particular is quite dangerous, as typically things that are political don’t necessarily have ‘right’ answers. You will always find people on both sides of an argument, and usually majority wins… but that doesn’t necessarily make them right.

As part of my job, I also act as the lead for Equality and Diversity and try my best to instill change within my workplace to make it more inclusive for all. I have my moments where I am super passionate and can’t wait to get out there and make a change, and then other days I suffer from reluctance out of self-doubt.

So, in answer to the question, I most definitely believe I would be a member of Dumbledore’s Army as I believed in their cause within the books. I am just uncertain as to how hesitant I would be when it came to action.

What are your thoughts? Would you be like me? or a full blown activist? Would you NOT join? If so, I would be particularly interested to hear why.

Thanks folks! 🙂

-Lee

Twitter || Instagram || Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter Moment of the Week

  1. I would like to think I was a member of Dumbledore’s army, because I believed in their cause as well. However, I was always a rule follower and I think I might’ve been afraid of what could happen. At the same time though, I’d be a wizard, and it’s always dangerous to be a wizard, so maybe I would be less afraid of punishment. Also, the whole wizarding world was chaotic, so it’s not like it would’ve been safer not joining.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

