Weekly Big Three: Children’s Books

The Weekly Big Three is a feature created by Fire and Rain Books, and this weeks theme is children’s books. I used to run a children’s department when I worked in a bookstore, so I knew this was something I just HAD to post about. Before I begin, I would just like to give Harry Potter an honourable mention as it is obvious it would belong on this list, but I wanted to explore some other titles! I am also going to try and do one for each age group (toddler, middle-grade and teen!)

So, let us get started!

One.

This one is a slight cheat, as it is basically ANY picture book by Oliver Jeffers… EVER. I know you probably weren’t anticipating me mentioning any picture books here, particularly as there is so many classic children’s book to choose from, but there is something about the beauty of Jeffers’ artwork and storytelling that is so utterly captivating that truly anyone can enjoy. When I used to recommend picture books, I would always try and recommend titles that both the child would enjoy as well as the parent reading to them.

 

Two.

This one will always stick with me. This was the book that my Primary Six teacher chose to read to us, and probably was my first introduction into the horror genre. About a young boy sent to a boarding school that is out of the ordinary, is not a concept we are unfamiliar with, but this does set itself apart somewhat and keeps its originality. I remember being so engrossed during storytime with this book, that I then decided to devour Horowitz’s other stuff like The Falcon’s Malteaser (again, another highly recommended mystery middle-grade book!)

 

Three.

When I first read the book thief it had just been released and was being sold as an adult book. But in recent years I have slowly seen this move into YA shelves as well, which I think is incredibly important as everyone should read this book at least once in their life. This is the first book I remember ever reading and thinking to myself ‘the writing in this is beautiful’. It truly is haunting, as one might expect given Death is our narrator, and educational in a most artful way. Strangely this book is a winter read for me and I enjoy it most close to Christmas time, wrapped in a blanket to beat off the cold, and has remained in my Top 5 books of all time since I first read it.

 

I hope this was insightful! I would love to know yours, so either comment below or link me to your posts. If you do decide to do a post on this, make sure to link back to the original page so that your options can be featured (and to give the creator their due credit as well).

-Lee

4 thoughts on “Weekly Big Three: Children’s Books

Leave a Reply

